After-School Options for Students

From homework help to athletics to SecondShift classes to community classes, there's plenty going on for Basalt students after school. Please note: students are not allowed to be on-campus at BMS after school lets out unless with an adult or registered in an after-school program. If there is a gap in time between the end of school and an activity, students must leave campus and return for the activity.

After-School Programs at BMS

Access After School Second Shift Classes Access After School offers a variety of affordable after-school classes ranging from cooking to the arts to STEM. Various days and classes are available. Scholarships based on need are available. Registration for classes is at: https://www.accessafterschool.org/secondshift

Homework Help Homework help offers students the chance to work through their homework with teachers after school. Registration is required through Access After School. https://www.accessafterschool.org/. Contact the front office with questions.

Mountain Biking Club Fall and Spring. This free BMS club with Roaring Fork Cycling meets after-school in the fall and spring as weather permits. Teachers and parents are welcome to join. Limited bikes and gear are available to borrow as well. There is a fee (but scholarships are available) and registration is required. Contacts are 8th grade teacher Katelyn Foster (kfoster@rfschools.com) or Jon Delk (jon.delk@roaringforkcycling.com)

The Buddy Program- FREE Student Peer-to-Peer Mentors from Basalt High School meet with middle school students weekly after school. Community Buddies are adult mentors who meet with students in the community at least 3-4 times per month. Contact: the BMS school counselor, the front office, or the program directly at http://www.buddyprogram.org/

After-School Programs in Basalt

The Art Base Community Art Center The Wyly offers a variety of art classes for students year-round. Website: https://theartbase.org/

Aspen Music Festival & School After-School Programs The Aspen Music Festival & School offers several after-school music programs, including a lead guitar class with Mr. Lenio, the Maroon Bel Canto Children’s Chorus, and Beginner Strings. Website: https://www.aspenmusicfestival.com/more/programs-local-youth/in-school-programs/amfs-after-works/

AVSC Ski & Snowboard Club AVSC typically plans a day to come to BMS to register students. Ask at the front office or check out the website at: https://www.teamavsc.org/Aspen-Valley-Ski-Snowboard-Club

The Basalt Recreation Department The town of Basalt offers a variety of recreational programming for students year-round. Website: https://www.basalt.net/176/Recreation

The Basalt Regional Library The Basalt Regional Library offers after-school activities and special events for middle school students as well as a place to come do homework after school. Website: http://basaltlibrary.org/

Crown Mountain Park Crown Mountain offers a variety of youth programming year-round. Website: www.crownmtn.org/

Girls on the Run-- 5th grade only Girls on the Run is back for the Fall 2021 season for 5th grade girls. This program is for grades 3-5 after school. The program focuses on making healthy choices, building self-esteem, learning how to handle peer pressure, building healthy relationships and of course there’s running. They will meet on Tuesday and Thursday from 3:30 to 5:00pm For questions contact Noel Gannett at ngannett@rfschools.com. Registration here.

Lacrosse A variety of clinics and team options are available. Website: http://www.roaringforklacrosse.org/

Little League Baseball Spring baseball is offered to boys and girls ages 8-14. Players are put on teams according to skill/age level. Teams play 20 games beginning in April and ending the first week in June. Contact: Carrey Sims, csims@rfschools.com, 379-9408. Website: www.3riversll.com

Little League Football Football is available for 5 and 6th grade students through Little League Football. Contact: Mitch Levy, mitchlevy2@gmail.com or 319-0155

Roaring Fork Fencers The Roaring Fork Fencers club offers a variety of camps and classes. Contact: Greg Domashovetz, greg@roaringforkfc.com or 847-778-8513. Website: www.roaringforkfc.com

Rock Bottom Ranch and ACES The Aspen Center for Environmental Studies offers a variety of classes and programming through its Rock Bottom Ranch location in the mid valley. Website: www.aspennature.org/locations/rock-bottom-ranch/what-to-do

Soccer The Roaring Fork Valley Soccer Club offers a variety of fall and spring options. Website: http://www.rfvsc.org/home.php. The Basalt Soccer Club also offers student options at: https://tcteams.com/basaltsoccer/about

Tennis For information on local tennis teams, contact: Diana Elliott at 970-927-4693.